top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoJo

Self Care Sundays

Updated: Apr 17, 2020


Quarantine Life Edition


I'm sure no one ever imagined that life in 2020 would look like this. Tick tocks, IG feeds being updated 24/8 and making frequent trips to the snack cabinet and not enough to those fitness apps we installed.

If I'm talking to you, go ahead and raise your hand. I am not ashamed to say that I am there with you. Not to mention the big debate about what we should or should not be doing in our own quarantined home but more of that in the USA Column.

Now that I have all the time in the world to nurture my relationships, I've grown fond of one in particular, the relationship I have with myself.

SELF LOVE

According to Wikipedia, “Self Love is defined as, love of self or regard for one’s own happiness or advantage - It has been both thought of as a human necessity and moral flaw”.


So, a plus! loving yourself is a human necessity! Which means that this might take a little work.


And it all starts in the mind (said every inspirational leader, preacher, and teacher). But it’s true!

I feel that this is a time of psychological warfare and we are losing it, literally. And our minds can only be taken back when we spend time with ourselves again. And I’m gon get real, real with you and say If you take time for yourselves you ultimately take time for the one who created you. (That was a message for somebody).

I won’t spend much time talking with you about all the ways you can set yourselves reminders to show up for yourself but I will tell you what to do when it’s time to work.


Because self love is what class?! Work.

My personal guidelines

  1. Acknowledgment

  2. Forgiveness

  3. Being Open

  4. NO negative self talk; that includes self handicapping myself. (Phillipians 4:8)


How we interact with ourselves is how we interact with the world. Neal Samudre said it best,

“Self Esteem influences how we approach and respond to life’s challenges”

But Seneca Roman says, make sure you care about what you think of yourself with this quote,

“What you think of yourself is much more important than what others think of you”

And I would be neglectful if I didn’t mention one of the most important acts of self love, self care.


MIND.BODY.SOUL.

Self Care - is any activity and inactivity that you deliberately take time to do in order to care for your physical, mental, and emotional health

Apart from loving yourself means taking care of yourself. Remember you can’t fill another’s cup when you yourself haven’t become full. What does practicing self care look like?

MY 3 AREAS OF SELF CARE:

MIND - Meditation, words of affirmation (FYI, Join me on IG

for meditation Mondays) Listen to music, and prayer

BODY - Exercise, eating habits, dance like no one is watching, and prayer

SOUL - Meditation, Words of Affirmations, Earthing, oh and look-ie there PRAYER

Find your rythm, get to know yourself, what you like and don‘t like. It takes 21 days to create a habit. What habits are creating during this quarantine. And just know that you’re allowed to make mistakes, failure is a MUST in order to grow, and one day at a time. Always acknowledge what you feel, forgive yourself daily and lastly, accept that some things are beyond your control.



24 views0 comments
bottom of page