top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoJo

Gene:sis

Updated: Nov 4, 2019

THE BEGINNING sis



 



In the beginning, March 21st 2017, I was turning 25 years old. Just earning my bachelors at Cal State Northridge and feeling lost. Who am I? Who was I suppose to be? What was I suppose to do? More importantly, how was I suppose to do it?


I had been down this road many times before going back and forth deciding on what dream to follow. I had finally decided that I had enough. I was going to be scared either way, whether I failed or failed at trying, so I had better be moving towards the direction that I wanted to head in.


From the moment you're born every thing you do is directed by your parents, teachers, etc. It never occurred to me that I hadn't taken the time to unlearn the things I wanted to discontinue navigating my life. March twenty-first of twenty nineteen was it; this was the year that I was going to find out who I was. I had just turned twenty-five, all while earning my bachelors at Cal State Northridge and I was scared about was next for me. This day was the beginning of me becoming. I was finally discovering who I was, why I was, and who I wanted to be. So I stopped, listened, fasted (thanks to my girl Larrinisha @the_journey_of_a_woman), prayed, self-reflected, practiced self-care, and repeated.


This was my beginning sis, to have a hand in creating a world I felt confident to live in. And now I'm here, wanting to share with you my life experiences and what I've learned.


Because In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. (Gen. 1:1) In the beginning is where you start. I encourage you to start your beginning, whatever that may look like, diet, lifestyle, spiritual life, friendship, exercise, healing. Whatever I'm still finding new beginnings everyday.





* Genesis 1:1-2 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2 Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters.


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page